Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and
early years professionals describe the school time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

* Communication and language;
* Physical development;
* Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future    learning, which takes place both indoors and outside. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas;

* Mathematics;
* Understanding the world;
* Expressive arts and design.
* Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Independent Play based learning activities are planned and developed to suit your child’s unique needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking . The staff within the unit are highly skilled in interacting with the children during their play to assess and observe their levels of development. Observations are taken to inform ongoing planning inorder that the unit is both supportive and challenging.

Communication and positive relationships between home and school is crucial to aiding development. To help in this, every child will be assigned a “Key Worker”. This is the person who Is your main point of contact within the setting, will be able to discuss your child's progress and attianment and will be collecting and collating evidence across the year. This will be the adult who you will meet with on parents' evenings to discuss your child's development.

Hillcross Primary School, Ashridge Way, Morden, Surrey, SM4 4EE

020 8542 6936